Transition Committee


Work is well underway to transition the Métis Nation of Alberta to the Otipemisiwak Métis Government with the creation of the Self-Government Transition Committee.

The MNA’s Provincial, Regional, and Local Councils have assets, contracts, and companies that need to be transitioned to the new self-government structures outlined in the Otipemisiwak Métis Government Constitution.

In the coming months, the Transition Committee will host information sessions in each region to gain citizen feedback and insight that will inform the final Transition Plan. Members of the Transition Committee will be engaging with MNA Citizens, affiliates, and Regional and Locals Councils, on two main areas:

  • First – options for transition to new District level governance structures, while ensuring ongoing local and/or regional benefit and control of any interests and assets owned by Regions and Locals ​
  • Second –how Métis Crossing, Rupertsland Institute and other MNA affiliates will be maintained or transitioned to the new Otipemisiwak Métis Government.

Once the Transition Committee gathers feedback from the Nation, it will develop a Transition Plan that will inform the MNA on the best path forward to move these existing governance structures to those of the new Otipemisiwak Métis Government. 


Meet the Committee Members

Voices from across the province are represented as the committee is made of MNA Citizens from across the province, appointed by the MNA Regions and Youth Council.

The Transition Committee is made of 16 members, including; a Chair, a Vice Chair, two appointed representatives from each MNA region, and two youth representatives.

  • Chair: Audrey Poitras
  • Vice Chair: Dan Cardinal
  • Two (2) representatives from each MNA Region:
    • Region 1: Bill Loutitt and Ernest Deschambeau

    • Region 2: Angela Field and Bernard Poitras

    • Region 3: Ward Sutherland and Grant Britton

    • Region 4: Brenda Joy Sinclair and Alice Berger

    • Region 5: Walter Andreeff and Jamie Chalifoux

    • Region 6: Pat Brothers and Camellia Ridsdale

  • Two (2) youth representatives: Rebecca Lavallee and Aurora Leddy


Establishing the Committee’s Mandate:

The mandate of the Transition Committee was first established, as directed by a 2021 Annual General Assembly (AGA) resolution, to work with Provincial Council, regions, and locals to transition from the Societies Act:

A Transition Committee made up of the MNA President and Vice-President and two MNA citizens appointed by each MNA Regional Council be established to develop a Transition Plan that will set out, among other things:

  1. How the various interests, assets, and liabilities of each MNA Local Council and Regional Council may be transitioned to a District Council as a part of the future Otipemisiwak Métis Government as contemplated under the Otipemisiwak Métis Government Constitution while ensuring ongoing local and/or regional benefit and control of any currently held interests and assets; and
  2. How the relationship of the current affiliates of the MNA will be maintained and transitioned to the Otipemisiwak Métis Government, including the possibility that they be continued as institutions of the Otipemisiwak Métis Government, as well as the potential for legislation be developed to set out their Distinct mandates and independence within a future Otipemisiwak Métis Government.

By a 2022 Annual General Assembly (AGA) resolution, two representatives appointed by the Youth Council were added to the Transition Committee.

The role of the Committee is to develop a Transition Plan in alignment with section 31.3 of the Otipemisiwak Constitution, which provides that:

As of the coming into force of this Constitution, the Otipemisiwak Métis Government shall have in place a transition plan that determines, among other things:

  • How the rights, titles, interests, assets, obligations, and liabilities of each Local Council and Regional Council of the Metis Nation of Alberta Association are to be vested in the Otipemisiwak Metis Government or a District Council as their successor; and
  • How the relationships of the affiliates of the Metis Nation of Alberta Association are to be maintained with the Otipemisiwak Métis Government



Have Your Voice Heard

MNA Citizens can contact the Transition Committee by e-mailing: [email protected]

Upcoming engagement opportunities will be posted below and on the MNA Facebook page, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn and

Make sure to have your voice heard!